Rwanda

Capital: Kigali

Population : 13 million.
56% of the population live below the poverty line

Life expectancy: 69 years

Areas of intervention: Food sovereignty, Education and vocational training, Gender and gender equality, Conflict prevention, Environment

Supported population: XXXX people

HDI: 160th out of 188 countries

Literacy rate: 73%

Context

Rwanda, a small, densely populated country also known as the land of a thousand hills, is located in the Great Lakes region of East Africa. It has more than 12 million inhabitants over an area of 26,000 km2. Although located in the equatorial zone, it nevertheless enjoys a temperate climate due to its altitude. Landlocked, it has borders with Uganda, Burundi, Tanzania and the Democratic Republic of Congo.  

 

Agriculture now accounts for nearly 90% of the country’s jobs. Yet, according to FAO figures in 2016, nearly 4 million Rwandans do not have enough to eat.

 

Much is being done to reunify the different factions in the population and to bring about peace. However, the stability of the country is also intrinsically linked to the stability of the wider area, and this is plagued by numerous conflicts, added to which are political and security abuses. Moreover, Rwandans are still deeply affected by the trauma of the genocide. Inequalities and poverty on top of post-traumatic syndromes are also a source of friction and generate violence. They reverberate at all levels of society. There has been a notable increase in domestic violence and the widows of the genocide are now swelling the ranks of the poorest. Meanwhile, the prevalence of young single mothers, often abandoned by their families, accentuates social tensions in certain communities already left behind.

Activities

In Rwanda, Secodev has focused its projects in the areas of food sovereignty, vocational training, prevention of conflicts and domestic violence, peacekeeping, gender and gender equality.

 

To promote food sovereignty, Secodev and its partners have focused on creating rural farming structures (farming organisations and associations), the transmission and teaching of agroecological production techniques including composting and partial ploughing, and the development of radical terraced crops. The organisation has also provided farmers with access to quality seeds to improve yields. The creation of farming organisations has led to improved food processing and marketing opportunities.

Vocational training is another key initiative developed by Secodev and its local partners in the country, notably with the opening of a regional training centre for agroecology, agroforestry and livestock studies. For Secodev, vocational training is essential for growth and development to be sustainable.

 

Since no country or region can develop without peace and stability in all strata of society, Secodev is equally committed to intervening at this level. Its work is also aimed at vulnerable and isolated people, particularly numerous in Rwanda after the genocide.  Thus, Secodev provides tailored support to widows, widowers and young single mothers. The organisation also addresses both the wider prevention of violence and domestic abuse in addition to promoting gender and gender equality.

Discover our countries of intervention

Rwanda

Drapeau du Rwanda

Capitale: Kigali

Population: 13 millions
56 % de la population vivant au-dessous du seuil de pauvreté

Espérance de vie: 69 ans

Domaines d’intervention: souveraineté alimentaire, éducation et formation professionnelle, genre et égalités des sexes, prévention des conflits, environnement

Population soutenue: XXXX personnes

IDH: 160ème sur 188 pays

Taux d’alphabétisation: 73%

Contexte

Le Rwanda aussi appelé le pays des mille collines, situé dans la région des Grands-Lacs en Afrique de l’Est est un petit pays densément peuplé. Il compte plus de 12 millions d’habitants sur une superficie de 26 000 km2. Situé en zone équatoriale, il est pourtant doté d’un climat tempéré en raison de son altitude. Enclavé, il a des frontières avec l’Ouganda, le Burundi, la Tanzanie et la République démocratique du Congo.

L’agriculture représente aujourd’hui près de 90% des emplois du pays. Pourtant, selon les chiffres de la FAO en 2016, près de 4 millions des Rwandais souffrent encore de la faim.

Toutefois, même si beaucoup est entrepris pour la réunification des peuples de la région et la pacification des tensions, la stabilité du pays est également intrinsèquement liée à sa stabilité globale régionale. Or, la région est en proie à de nombreux conflits, dérives politiques et sécuritaires. De plus, les Rwandais sont toujours profondément marqués par le traumatisme du génocide. Les inégalités et la pauvreté ajoutés aux syndromes post-traumatiques sont également source de tensions et génératrices de violences. Elles se répercutent à tous les niveaux de la société. En effet, on constate une forte augmentation de la violence domestique au sein des foyers. Les veuves du génocide viennent gonfler aujourd’hui les rangs des plus démunis. En parallèle, le phénomène des filles-mères, souvent abandonnées par leurs familles, accentuent le drame social de certaines communautés déjà laissées pour compte.

image du Rwanda

Activités

Au Rwanda, Secodev a concentré ses projets dans les domaines d’intervention de la souveraineté alimentaire, la formation professionnelle, la prévention des conflits et des violences intrafamiliales, le maintien de la paix, le genre et l’égalité des sexes.

En ce qui concerne la souveraineté alimentaire, Secodev et ses partenaires ont misé sur la structuration paysanne (création d’organisations et d’associations paysannes), la transmission et l’apprentissage de techniques de production agroécologiques (compostage, labour partiel, etc.), comme notamment le développement de cultures en terrasses radicales. L’organisation a aussi permis à l’accès des paysans à des semences de qualité permettant l’amélioration des rendements. La création d’organisations paysannes a également mené à une meilleure transformation de la production et une commercialisation facilitée des productions.

La formation professionnelle est également une des activités principales que Secodev a développé dans le pays avec ses partenaires, notamment avec la création d’un centre de formation régional sur l’agroécologie, l’agroforesterie et l’élevage. Pour Secodev, la formation professionnelle est essentielle pour s’engager durablement sur la voie du développement.

 

Comme le développement d’un pays ou d’une région ne peut se réaliser sans que celui-ci connaisse la paix et la stabilité dans toutes les strates de la société, Secodev s’est également engagée à intervenir dans ces domaines. Son action s’adresse également aux personnes vulnérables et isolées, particulièrement nombreuses au Rwanda après le génocide. Ainsi, Secodev apporte un soutien spécifique aux veuves et veufs ainsi qu’au jeunes mères célibataires. L’organisation agit également sur la prévention globale des violences et aussi des violences intrafamiliales ainsi que sur la promotion du genre et de l’égalité des sexes.

Rwanda

Découvrez tous nos pays d’intervention